United We Stand

Ranks of the Army

Enlisted Personnel:

Pay Grade Title Insignia
E-1 Private None
E-2 Private
E-3 Private First Class
E-4 Specialist
E-5 Sergeant
E-6 Staff Sergeant
E-7 Sergeant First Class
E-8 Master Sergeant
First Sergeant
E-9 Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major of the Army



Warrant Officers:

Pay Grade Title Insignia
W-1 Warrant Officer One
W-2 Chief Warrant Officer Two
W-3 Chief Warrant Officer Three
W-4 Chief Warrant Officer Four
W-5 Chief Warrant Officer Five


Commissioned Officers:

Pay Grade Title Insignia
O-1 Second Lieutenant
O-2 First Lieutenant
O-3 Captain
O-4 Major
O-5 Lieutenant Colonel
O-6 Colonel
O-7 Brigadier General
O-8 Major General
O-9 Lieutenant General
O-10 General
O-11* General of the Army

O-11 exists during times of declared war only.


Ribbons...you see them on the uniforms, but what
so they stand for?  Click the ribbon above for a list.

Many personnel also wear various pins and insignia on their
uniforms.  Click on the patch above for a list.





Click above to change the branch of service.